I am loving life here on campus! Even cheerleading is stressing me out less. I'm concentrating more on my own personal improvement than on what everyone else is doing and I feel myself getting better and stronger everyday. We've been running the stairs in the arena which is tough but I definitely feel like it gets easier every time. Tonight we have practice early and were supposed to go until 10 but after a weekend FULLL of events Duane has decided to cut practice short. Thank Heaven! I hung out with a lacrosse player named Calvin on friday. He's so nice and wayyyyy cute! We're hanging out tomorrow I think. Come to think of it tomorrow is packed! Class from 10-12, lunch, class 1-3 workout, kroger with a friend to get stuff to make breakfast on saturday before the game for some people, dinner of some sort, Young Life leader training 7-8 and then something with Calvin. Whew I'm thinking I'll be studying during that little in between time!
Practice ended up being over at 8:30 which was amazing! So I went to Happy Hour at Applebees with a couple people. I am just having so much fun in college. My tumbling and stunting gets better every practice so I cant complain about anything really!
This is the story of a Marshall University Freshman Cheerleader trying to find herself and learn the ins and outs of college life while cheering on the Herd!
Sunday, August 30, 2009
Tuesday, August 25, 2009
Pushing through!
I'm trying really hard not to stress for practice. I've been feeling a little homesick today and have been feeling a little under the weather with an upset stomach. I talked to Natalie last night and she really helped me. I am determined to be more aggressive tonight! I'm so determined to push through this trying time and know that soon I'll be looking back on it saying that was nothing! Tonight I am going to have the best practice ever! Deep breath! Time to show my coaches how I really am!
Monday, August 24, 2009
great beginnings and endings
What an eventful day today has been! It started at 8 with a shower and some e-mails back home to little brother and sister. My first class was at 10. Business communications which was pretty cool and laid back. my second class was right after that and it was math with this little asian lady that hardly spoke english! But she was really nice and explained things as well as she could. at noon Rebecca and I went to lunch at the dining hall which was more of a snack consisting of a little salad, some cottage cheese and 2 melon wedges. So my last 2 classes were UNI 101 which was awesome because I have an awesome teacher and english which sucked because I think I'm stuck in retard enlgish with a teacher who uses words like "Knapsack" and "writing inplement" so rebecca and I met up with 2 other girls to go work out around 4 which was great except all the stupid boys were hogging the free weights! So i ran a lot more than I thought and would and was really proud of myself! Then I came back worked on some homework and saw that a bunch of people had been stunting and didnt care to tell me about it. How nice right?? So that pretty much pissed me off and I tried to let it go but then Corey asked me to go out to dinner so I was like ok whatever. Well he ended up having to bring his 2 year old sister and that just sent my stress level sky rocketing A. because i looked like an 18 year old mother and B. because i was not in the mood to deal with her which I ended up doing while Corey was passive. So I was very relieved to get back to the room and hang out and BLOG!! I just hapened to get a chance to talk to one of my coaches who gave me a little tough love and a pep talk :) So the day was definitely great beginning and end with a bit of a rough middle. Tomorrow is going to be GRRRREAT! :)
Sunday, August 23, 2009
settling in :)
well tomorrow is my first day of classes so today my room mate and I are going to adventure around campus a bit. Have brunch in the dining hall, find our mail boxes, class rooms, etc. I'm really excited to start classes tomorrow and meet some more people. We worked an event called RecFest yesterday at the new rec center which was really like an open house and was pretty cool! My roommate rebecca is definitely different from me but shes really nice and we have very similar ideas and values. I went out last night to a friends party at a bar and it was ok but its not as much fun when youre not drinking thats for SURE!!! So I was home by 12. and rebecca and i talked an chatted a while before going to sleep. Today we have practice and I'm a little nervouse but I think we'll be spending a lot of time on dances and cheers which will distract from tumbling!!!! thank HEAVEN!!! So I'm just trying not to think about it or worry about it.
Thursday, August 20, 2009
finally here!!!
I'm HERE!!!! I have now been a college student for over 24 hours now! Dad and I got everything moved in by noon and by the afternoon and this morning there were only details to worry about! Dad and I spent most of the day today doing things together like setting up my wireless, running to WalMart for forgotten items, stopping by the bank etc. I have only really been on my own for a couple hours now. I'm so excited. I ran into a lot of people I knew today and talked to alot of random new people and then saw some of the team stunting on the practice field for the band on my way back to my dorm from visiting nana and papa. I'm not tooo stressed about everything. Right now I am just completely exhausted. I dont like not having mike around to tumble but its ok! Tomorrow I"m going to get signed up at the rec center early in the morning and then hang out and try to stay out of the way for most of the day and then have dinner with my roommate and her family! I cant wait to meet her!! Details on the move in tomorrow! I am exhausted!
Monday, August 17, 2009
Going away present
I leave for college tomorrow. I am a Marshall University student and athlete. Dear Jesus it snuck up on me so quick! I only cried once today and it was in the middle of my best tumbling day ever! My handspring is by myself and I need to get over the fear of that first one. the fear of the unknown. I only cried once today! I am almost ready to go. Just about everything is packed! Its so crazy! I am sooo excited and sad at the same time. There are so many great things happening but so many great things happening at home too!
They had a going away cook out for me on Sunday. Mom and Dad, Jess and Josh, Aunt Boo, Uncle Dewey and Jenna, Amy, Jason and Cabella, Whitney and Debbi and Matt and Candice. It was so great to just hang out. Gordon came over after everyone left and we hung out. It was weird. It was like all the tension that had built up since like October just kind of let go and we watched a couple good movies and laughed and cuddled. He kissed me before he left. Its so weird to think about because its Gordon but hey I'm not complaining.
Tomorrow is a crazy day and i think its the day that i finally hit my handspring. Its going to happen. Ican feel it! I am soo ready. It'll be my going away present to myself and to mike
They had a going away cook out for me on Sunday. Mom and Dad, Jess and Josh, Aunt Boo, Uncle Dewey and Jenna, Amy, Jason and Cabella, Whitney and Debbi and Matt and Candice. It was so great to just hang out. Gordon came over after everyone left and we hung out. It was weird. It was like all the tension that had built up since like October just kind of let go and we watched a couple good movies and laughed and cuddled. He kissed me before he left. Its so weird to think about because its Gordon but hey I'm not complaining.
Tomorrow is a crazy day and i think its the day that i finally hit my handspring. Its going to happen. Ican feel it! I am soo ready. It'll be my going away present to myself and to mike
Friday, August 14, 2009
great day
What a crazy day! I went out with Ashley last night and got in around 2 AM so was reallly tired today but sucked it up and helped mom by going to Easton to deal with Jess's broken iPod. I got home around 2:30 and was planning on a killer nap. No such luck I laid down in the quiet and all of a sudden people decided to show up. UGH! So I chugged a sugar free red bull and made a snack and went to the gym and spent the rest of the evening with mike whitney and debbi. I had a fantastic tumbling day!! Without even considering that mike made me keep my heavy running shoes on and I had just done some kick butt cardio and was crazy tired. I was really proud of myself. It was a relatively easy night but I was ok with that since I worked out on top of it. Today was a great tumbling day!!!
1. St. Paul girls pulliong off an awesome practice!
2. Getting Jess's iPod replaced for her
3. Lunch at Cafe Istanbul
4. 5 minutes of peace and quiet
5. Natalie's pictures from cheer camp
6. 30 minutes of killer cardio
7. jersey mikes!!!
8. spending time with mike whitney and debbi
9. mom understanding dad being a jerk
10. being able to sleep in tomorrow!!!1
1. St. Paul girls pulliong off an awesome practice!
2. Getting Jess's iPod replaced for her
3. Lunch at Cafe Istanbul
4. 5 minutes of peace and quiet
5. Natalie's pictures from cheer camp
6. 30 minutes of killer cardio
7. jersey mikes!!!
8. spending time with mike whitney and debbi
9. mom understanding dad being a jerk
10. being able to sleep in tomorrow!!!1
Wednesday, August 12, 2009
6days please go slow
So the last couple weeks have been absolute insanity!!! Cheer camp was crazy intense and I was sooo Sore for the next few days! Then I had a couple days at home before I left for Georgia. Georgia was so much fun and such a great stress reliever. Coming home though I feel completely overwhelmed! I am packing for college and I leave in 6 days! When did this happen?!?!?!?! I am leaving my family and friends and so many others for a cmpletely different life. its so scary!!! I feel so scattered and weird and out of place. I dont have a routine and I dont know whats going to happen! I feel so scatter brained right now that I dont even know what to write about! Mike is coming over in the morning to tumble. tonight was good but frustrating a little. I felt like I was a little out of it like I didnt remember what to do lol. But its coming back to me. I just feel soooo overhwelmed. In fact I need to get some sleep. my eyes are drooping!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)